I am not a Catholic, but I take great interest in the Catholic church, just as i take interest in all organizations that have influence over laws and policy on a national and global level.  And I have to say, that while I am sure that Pope Francis and I disagree on the details of many, many things, I think we may come from the same base: “We must always consider the person.

In saying this, the Pope was discussing how we should regard gay people, not women of reproductive age.  However, his overall message was that the Church’s obsessive focus on contraception, abortion, and homosexuality was deviating from bringing the message of the Gospel to the world:

“The dogmatic and moral teachings of the church are not all equivalent. The church’s pastoral ministry cannot be obsessed with the transmission of a disjointed multitude of doctrines to be imposed insistently….The proclamation of the saving love of God comes before moral and religious imperatives.”

Even as person who does not share the Pope’s religious beliefs, I can get behind that kind of big-picture thinking.  Regardless of our moral positions on specific issues, our utmost responsibility is to consider the person.

Now maybe he’ll get behind the feminist nuns.  Because after all, feminism is the radical notion that women are people.

