I just can’t say it better than this. Thanks, Dr. Jen Gunter.

Dr. Jen Gunter

The infant mortality statistics are out again. This always depresses me because:

A) The rates are atrociously high

and

B) There is so much legislation passed to restrict abortion in the name of “life,” but politicians and judges seems awfully silent on infant mortality.

In the United States 6.4 infants out of every 1,000 born will not reach their first birthday. This is more than 24,000 infant deaths a year. The United States is also the leader in the industrialized world for infants dying on the day they are bornOver 35% of neonatal and infant deaths are the result of a premature delivery. As an OB/GYN I’ve delivered many tiny babies destined to die and my son, Aidan, is part of that data set…a child sharing a date of birth and date of death due to prematurity. I know this tragedy and sadness only too well.

It’s not…

View original post 516 more words

